Babyface Said It Best

7 Aug

“When can I see you again?”

Possibly a woman’s favorite thing to hear from a man, other than “Did you lose weight?  You look incredible,” or “No, I don’t expect reciprocation…I’m a giver.”

At the end of a date, when a guy asks you that question, you have one thing that every person, man or woman, wants – confirmation. Confirmation that you are an attractive, desirable person.  Confirmation that you have impressed this date of yours so much that they are already thinking about your next rendezvous.  Confirmation that (like our mothers all taught us,) you left them wanting more.

But what about those times when the wrong person asks you the right question?    I went on a date this week with a new match.com-er who I really wanted to like.  I mean, we have so much in common that it almost seems silly NOT to be into him.  He is a total foodie, (which is why I’ve aptly named him Foodie Fellow,) who likes all the same things as me, has an adorable dog that I’m sure my dog would love, and has an east coast accent (which, if I haven’t mentioned before, I am TOTALLY into.  If you “pahk ya cah in Hahvahd yahd,” I’ll probably park something there too. …kidding…kind of.)  Regardless of the panty-dropping accent, mutual hobbies, and puppy love, I’m just not physically attracted to him.

While we’re on this topic, I want to clarify something for the masses.  Physical attraction doesn’t necessarily have to do with someone’s “attractiveness.”  I’ve got plenty of REALLY attractive guy friends, who I wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole, (even if they had a ten foot…nevermind.)  I also have been really attracted to guys who are not tradtionally handsome by any means – I’ll have to write a blog about “ugly sexy.”  The point is, physical chemistry is important, and if it’s not there, you can’t do anything about it.

At the end of the date with FF, he asked that cherished question, and I just didn’t know how to break it to him.  I told him I’d have to check my schedule, but odds are, it’s just not happening.

On a positive note, I did get to try an incredible restaurant that I’ve had my eye on for quite awhile.  Ahh, the silver lining…

2 Responses to “Babyface Said It Best”

  1. Julia August 7, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    You are not kidding about physical chemistry. Currently enjoying a guy totally opposite of who I would stop for. The connection is like the surge of current during a thunderstorm. He’s kind, warm, funny and… as the story goes, makes the world go round, for now. Haha

  2. SingleinSD August 12, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    I am looking forward to that “ugly sexy” article…..I’m 28 and I’m dating a 44 year old bald, chubby guy that I think is the cat’s meow. I dunno, the Mr. Clean-meets-Kevin-James look just does it for me, not to mention the fact that he is the sweetest guy in the world. Looks fade, but personality generally does not. So choosing a mate based on personality over looks (yes, as long as the attraction is there) is the way to go!

Leave a comment